Argh!

1 02 2008

My mother, who, by the way, often borders on the impossible, is always asking when I’m going to knit her something. She does this every time I mention knitting, yet she won’t say what it is she wants me to knit for her. (Contrast this with my dad, who not only told me exactly what he wanted, but also picked out the yarn and bought it for me)

So I said, “Okay, how about a lace shawl?”

The reason I said this is because I wanted to knit one. She said a lace shawl would be acceptable. Provided it was knit in cotton/linen, and the color was tan or taupe.

…Taupe? You’ve gotta be kidding me.

Whatever. KnitPicks CotLin in Linen it is. She didn’t give me any suggestions as to a pattern, either, so she’s getting a Pi Shawl, filled with whatever lace patterns I feel like knitting.

Pi

I used Judy’s Magic Cast-On for the center because I didn’t feel like wrestling against this slippery yarn to do a nice circular cast-on. I guess it looks okay. My mom most likely won’t notice the difference.

If she doesn’t wear it, well… I wash my hands of it. I think that’s the worst possible color for a shawl (correct me if I’m wrong), but it’s what she wanted, so even if she doesn’t wear it (and who could blame her) I expect some effing gratitude.

Nobody else in my life is this difficult to knit for…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

